News: Nominations wanted for 2013 Solidarity Awards

2012 Solidarity Award Winners with Jose Ramos-HortaPalms Australia’s Solidarity Awards recognise individuals, Australian organisations or groups who have acted in solidarity by cooperating across cultures to achieve a just, sustainable, interdependent and peaceful world free of poverty.

Palms Inaugural Solidarity Awards held in October 2012 was hosted by journalist, consumer advocate, environmental activist and author Indira Naidoo. The keynote speaker was Palms patron, Dr José Ramos-Horta, Nobel Peace Prize Laureate and President of Timor-Leste 2007-2012.

Palms Australia is now seeking nominations for its 2nd Annual Solidarity Awards to be held on 5 October 2013. Nominations close 5 August 2013.

Nominations may be made in the following award categories:

  • Roy Boylan Award for long-term commitment to justice and peace at home and abroad

    Criteria: A person who has demonstrated long-term commitment (>10 years) to justice and peace.

  • Cyril Hally Award

    Criteria: A person, organisation or group which has contributed to recruitment and effective cross-cultural engagement.

  • An organisation or group employing Palms model of sustainable development through voluntary relationship

    Criteria:  An organisation or group which has built the capacity of individuals and organisations through long-term relationships.

  • Peter de Haas Community Engagement Award

    Criteria: A person who has linked and engaged community groups in support of development projects.

How do I nominate an individual, group of organisation?

Simply complete the above form or email, fax or mail your nominations to Palms Australia before the deadline of 5 August 2013.

add to Digg it Stumble It! reddit facebook TwitterSHARE THIS PAGE

I expect to pass through this world but once. Any good, therefore, that I can do, or any kindness that I can show to any human being, let me do it now. Let me not defer or neglect it, for I shall not pass this way again. - Stephen Krebbet